Advanced European Network of E-infrastructures for Astronomy with the SKA (AENEAS)
Research Project, 2017 – 2019

The objective of the AENEAS project is to develop a concept and design for a distributed, federated European Science Data Centre (ESDC) to support the astronomical community in achieving the scientific goals of the Square Kilometre Array (SKA). The scientific potential of the SKA radio telescope is unprecedented and represents one of the highest priorities for the international scientific community. By the same token, the large scale, rate, and complexity of data the SKA will generate, present challenges in data management, computing, and networking that are similarly world-leading. SKA Regional Centres (SRC) like the ESDC will be a vital resource to enable the community to take advantage of the scientific potential of the SKA. Within the tiered SKA operational model, the SRCs will provide essential functionality which is not currently provisioned within the directly operated SKA facilities. AENEAS brings together all the European member states currently part of the SKA project as well as potential future EU SKA national partners, the SKA Organisation itself, and a larger group of international partners including the two host countries Australia and South Africa.


John Conway (contact)

Chalmers, Space, Earth and Environment, Onsala Space Observatory


AARNet Pty Ltd (APL)

North Ryde, Australia

Agencia Estatal Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas (CSIC)

Madrid, Spain

Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS)

Paris, France

Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)

Canberra, Australia

Forschungszentrum Jülich

Juelich, Germany

Foundation for Fundamental Research on Matter

Utrecht, Netherlands


Cambridge, United Kingdom

Greek Research and Technology Network (GRNET)

Athens, Greece

Instituto de Telecomunicações

Lisboa, Portugal

Istituto nazionale di astrofisica (INAF)

Roma, Italy

Joint Institute for VLBI in Europe (JIVE)

Dwingeloo, Netherlands

Max Planck Society

München, Germany

National Government of South Africa

Pretoria, South Africa

Research Data Alliance (RDA)

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom

Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC)

Swindon, United Kingdom

Stichting Astronomisch Onderzoek In Nederland

Dwingeloo, Netherlands

Stichting International Lofar Telescope

Dwingeloo, Netherlands

Stichting VU-VUmc

Amsterdam, Netherlands

Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne (EPFL)

Lausanne, Switzerland

University of Cambridge

Cambridge, United Kingdom

University of Cape Town

Cape Town, South Africa

University of Geneva

Geneve, Switzerland

University of Manchester

Manchester, United Kingdom

Uppsala University

Uppsala, Sweden

Victoria University of Wellington

Wellington, New Zealand


European Commission (EC)

Project ID: EC/H2020/731016
Funding Chalmers participation during 2017–2019

Related Areas of Advance and Infrastructure

Onsala Space Observatory


More information

Latest update