Integrated modelling of ITER reference scenarios
Artikel i vetenskaplig tidskrift, 2009

The ITER Scenario Modelling Working Group (ISM WG) is organized within the European Task Force on Integrated Tokamak Modelling (ITM-TF). The main responsibility of the WG is to advance a pan-European approach to integrated predictive modelling of ITER plasmas with the emphasis on urgent issues, identified during the ITER Design Review. Three major topics are discussed, which are considered as urgent and where the WG has the best possible expertize. These are modelling of current profile control, modelling of density control and impurity control in ITER (the last two topics involve modelling of both core and SOL plasma). Different methods of heating and current drive are tested as controllers for the current profile tailoring during the current ramp-up in ITER. These include Ohmic, NBI, ECRH and LHCD methods. Simulation results elucidate the available operational margins and rank different methods according to their ability to meet different requirements. A range of ‘ITER-relevant' plasmas from existing tokamaks were modelled. Simulations confirmed that the theory-based transport model, GLF23, reproduces the density profile reasonably well and can be used to assess ITER profiles with both pellet injection and gas puffing. In addition, simulations of the SOL plasma were launched using both H-mode and L-mode models for perpendicular transport within the edge barrier and in the SOL. Finally, an integrated approach was also used for the predictive modelling of impurity accumulation in ITER. This includes helium ash, extrinsic impurities (such as argon) and impurities coming from the wall (including tungsten). The relative importance of anomalous and neo-classical pinch contributions towards impurity penetration through the edge transport barrier and further accumulation in the core was assessed.


V. Parail

P. Belo

P. Boerner

X. Bonnin

G. Corrigan

D. Coster

J. Ferreira

A. Foster

L. Garzotti

G. M. D. Hogeweij

W. Houlberg

F. Imbeaux

J. Johner

F. Kochl

V. Kotov

L. Lauro-Taroni

X. Litaudon

J. Lonnroth

G. Pereverzev

Y. Peysson

G. Saibene

R. Sartori

M. Schneider

G. Sips

Pär Strand

Chalmers, Institutionen för radio- och rymdvetenskap, Transportteori

G. Tardini

M. Valovic

S. Wiesen

M. Wischmeier

R. Zagorski

JET EFDA Contributors

EU ITM Task Force

Nuclear Fusion

0029-5515 (ISSN) 1741-4326 (eISSN)

Vol. 49 7 075030


Annan teknik

Fusion, plasma och rymdfysik



Mer information

Senast uppdaterat