Kinetic temperature of massive star-forming molecular clumps measured with formaldehyde: IV. The ALMA view of N113 and N159W in the LMC
Artikel i vetenskaplig tidskrift, 2021

We mapped the kinetic temperature structure of two massive star-forming regions, N113 and N159W, in the Large Magellanic Cloud (LMC). We have used 1.6 (0.4 pc) resolution measurements of the para-H2CO JKaKc = 303-202, 322-221, and 321-220 transitions near 218.5 GHz to constrain RADEX non local thermodynamic equilibrium models of the physical conditions. The gas kinetic temperatures derived from the para-H2CO line ratios 322-221/303-202 and 321-220/303-202 range from 28 to 105 K in N113 and 29 to 68 K in N159W. Distributions of the dense gas traced by para-H2CO agree with those of the 1.3 mm dust and Spitzer 8.0 μm emission, but they do not significantly correlate with the Hα emission. The high kinetic temperatures (Tkin50 K) of the dense gas traced by para-H2CO appear to be correlated with the embedded infrared sources inside the clouds and/or young stellar objects in the N113 and N159W regions. The lower temperatures (Tkin < 50 K) were measured at the outskirts of the H2CO-bearing distributions of both N113 and N159W. It seems that the kinetic temperatures of the dense gas traced by para-H2CO are weakly affected by the external sources of the Hα emission. The non thermal velocity dispersions of para-H2CO are well correlated with the gas kinetic temperatures in the N113 region, implying that the higher kinetic temperature traced by para-H2CO is related to turbulence on a 0.4 pc scale. The dense gas heating appears to be dominated by internal star formation activity, radiation, and/or turbulence. It seems that the mechanism heating the dense gas of the star-forming regions in the LMC is consistent with that in Galactic massive star-forming regions located in the Galactic plane.

ISM: clouds

Stars: formation

ISM: molecules

Radio lines: ISM


X. D. Tang

Chinese Academy of Sciences


C. Henkel

King Abdulaziz University

Chinese Academy of Sciences


K. Menten


Y. Gong


C. H.R. Chen


D. Li

Chinese Academy of Sciences

M. Y. Lee

Korea Astronomy and Space Science Institute


J. G. Mangum

National Radio Astronomy Observatory

Y. Ao

Chinese Academy of Sciences

S. Muhle

Universität Bonn

Susanne Aalto

Chalmers, Rymd-, geo- och miljövetenskap, Astronomi och plasmafysik

S. G. Burillo

Observatorio Astronómico Nacional (OAN)

S. Martin

Atacama Large Millimeter-submillimeter Array (ALMA)

European Southern Observatory Santiago

Serena Viti

Universiteit Leiden

University College London (UCL)

Sebastien Muller

Chalmers, Rymd-, geo- och miljövetenskap, Onsala rymdobservatorium, Observationssupport

Francesco Costagliola

Chalmers, Rymd-, geo- och miljövetenskap, Astronomi och plasmafysik, Extragalaktisk astrofysik

H. Asiri

King Abdulaziz University

S. A. Levshakov

Russian Academy of Sciences

M. Spaans

Rijksuniversiteit Groningen

J. Ott

National Radio Astronomy Observatory Socorro

C. M. V. Impellizzeri

National Radio Astronomy Observatory

Atacama Large Millimeter-submillimeter Array (ALMA)

Yasuo Fukui

Nagoya University

Y. X. He

Chinese Academy of Sciences

J. Esimbek

Chinese Academy of Sciences

Jianjun Zhou

Chinese Academy of Sciences

X. W. Zheng

Nanjing University

X. Zhao

Chinese Academy of Sciences

J. S. Li

Chinese Academy of Sciences

Astronomy and Astrophysics

0004-6361 (ISSN) 1432-0746 (eISSN)

Vol. 655 A12



Meteorologi och atmosfärforskning

Astronomi, astrofysik och kosmologi



Mer information

Senast uppdaterat