An ALMA Survey of Submillimeter Galaxies in the Extended Chandra Deep Field South: Source Catalog and Multiplicity
Artikel i vetenskaplig tidskrift, 2013

We present an Atacama Large Millimeter/submillimeter Array (ALMA) Cycle 0 survey of 126 submillimeter sources from the LABOCA ECDFS Submillimeter Survey (LESS). Our 870 mu m survey with ALMA (ALESS) has produced maps similar to 3x deeper and with a beam area similar to 200x smaller than the original LESS observations, doubling the current number of interferometrically-observed submillimeter sources. The high resolution of these maps allows us to resolve sources that were previously blended and accurately identify the origin of the submillimeter emission. We discuss the creation of the ALESS submillimeter galaxy (SMG) catalog, including the main sample of 99 SMGs and a supplementary sample of 32 SMGs. We find that at least 35% (possibly up to 50%) of the detected LABOCA sources have been resolved into multiple SMGs, and that the average number of SMGs per LESS source increases with LESS flux density. Using the (now precisely known) SMG positions, we empirically test the theoretical expectation for the uncertainty in the single-dish source positions. We also compare our catalog to the previously predicted radio/mid-infrared counterparts, finding that 45% of the ALESS SMGs were missed by this method. Our similar to 1 ''.6 resolution allows us to measure a size of similar to 9 kpc x 5 kpc for the rest-frame similar to 300 mu m emission region in one resolved SMG, implying a star formation rate surface density of 80 M-circle dot yr(-1) kpc(-2), and we constrain the emission regions in the remaining SMGs to be <10 kpc. As the first statistically reliable survey of SMGs, this will provide the basis for an unbiased multiwavelength study of SMG properties.

laboca survey

1.4 ghz survey


submillimeter: galaxies

degree extragalactic survey



number counts

star-forming galaxies


cosmos field

molecular gas

galaxies: high-redshift

galaxies: starburst

major mergers


J. A. Hodge

Max Planck-institutet

A. Karim

University of Durham

I. Smail

University of Durham

A. M. Swinbank

University of Durham

F. Walter

Max Planck-institutet

A. D. Biggs

European Southern Observatory (ESO)

R. J. Ivison

University of Edinburgh

Royal Observatory

A. Weiss

Max Planck-institutet

D. M. Alexander

University of Durham

F. Bertoldi

Universität Bonn

W. N. Brandt

Pennsylvania State University

S. C. Chapman

University of Cambridge Institute of Astronomy

Dalhousie University

K. E. K. Coppin

McGill University

P. Cox

Institut de RadioAstronomie Millimetrique (IRAM)

A. L. R. Danielson

University of Durham

H. Dannerbauer

Universität Wien

C. De Breuck

European Southern Observatory (ESO)

R. Decarli

Max Planck-institutet

A. C. Edge

University of Durham

T. R. Greve

University College London (UCL)

Kirsten Kraiberg Knudsen

Chalmers, Rymd- och geovetenskap, Radioastronomi och astrofysik

K. M. Menten

Max Planck-institutet

H. W. Rix

Max Planck-institutet

E. Schinnerer

Max Planck-institutet

J. M. Simpson

University of Durham

J. L. Wardlow

UC Irvine

P. van der Werf

Universiteit Leiden

Astrophysical Journal

0004-637X (ISSN) 1538-4357 (eISSN)

Vol. 768 91


Astronomi, astrofysik och kosmologi


Grundläggande vetenskaper