Guidelines and recommendations on yeast cell death nomenclature
Reviewartikel, 2018

Elucidating the biology of yeast in its full complexity has major implications for science, medicine and industry. One of the most critical processes determining yeast life and physiology is cellular demise. However, the investigation of yeast cell death is a relatively young field, and a widely accepted set of concepts and terms is still missing. Here, we propose unified criteria for the definition of accidental, regulated, and programmed forms of cell death in yeast based on a series of morphological and biochemical criteria. Specifically, we provide consensus guidelines on the differential definition of terms including apoptosis, regulated necrosis, and autophagic cell death, as we refer to additional cell death routines that are relevant for the biology of (at least some species of) yeast. As this area of investigation advances rapidly, changes and extensions to this set of recommendations will be implemented in the years to come. Nonetheless, we strongly encourage the authors, reviewers and editors of scientific articles to adopt these collective standards in order to establish an accurate framework for yeast cell death research and, ultimately, to accelerate the progress of this vibrant field of research.

Model organism


Mitotic catastrophe

Saccharomyces cerevisiae


Accidental cell death


Reactive oxygen species

Autophagic cell death

Regulated cell death


Mitochondrial membrane permeabilization


Didac Carmona-Gutierrez

Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz

Maria Anna Bauer

Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz

Andreas Zimmermann

Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz

Andrés Aguilera

Universidad de Sevilla

Nicanor Austriaco

Providence College

Kathryn Ayscough

University of Sheffield

Rena Balzan

University of Malta

Shoshana Bar-Nun

Tel Aviv University George S. Wise Faculty of Life Sciences

Antonio Barrientos

University of Miami Leonard M. Miller School of Medicine

Peter Belenky

Brown University

Marc Blondel

Universite de Bretagne Occidentale

R. J. Braun

Universität Bayreuth

Michael Breitenbach

Universität Salzburg

William C. Burhans

Roswell Park Cancer Institute

Sabrina Büttner

Department of Molecular Biosciences, The Wenner-Gren Institute

Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz

Duccio Cavalieri

Universita degli Studi di Firenze

Michael Chang

Rijksuniversiteit Groningen

Katrina F. Cooper

Rowan University

Manuela Côrte-Real

Universidade do Minho

Vítor Costa

Instituto de Biologia Molecular e Celular

Universidade do Porto

I3S- Instituto de Investigacao e Inovacao em Saude

Christophe Cullin

Université de Bordeaux

Ian W Dawes

University of New South Wales (UNSW)

Jörn Dengjel

Université de Fribourg

Martin B. Dickman

Texas A&M University

Tobias Eisenberg

Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz


Birthe Fahrenkrog

Université libre de Bruxelles (ULB)

Nicolas Fasel

Université de Lausanne

Kai Uwe Fröhlich

Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz

Ali Gargouri

Centre de Biotechnologie de Sfax

Sergio Giannattasio

Consiglo Nazionale Delle Richerche

Paola Goffrini

Universita degli Studi di Parma

Campbell W. Gourlay

University Of Kent

Chris M. Grant

University of Manchester

Michael T. Greenwood

Royal Military College of Canada

Nicoletta Guaragnella

Consiglo Nazionale Delle Richerche

Thomas Heger

Universitässpital Zurich

Jürgen Heinisch

Universitat Osnabruck

Eva Herker

Heinrich-Pette-Institut Leibniz-Institut für Experimentelle Virologie

Johannes M. Herrmann

Technische Universität Kaiserslautern

Sebastian Hofer

Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz

Antonio Jiménez-Ruiz

Universidad de Alcala

Helmut Jungwirth

Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz

Katharina Kainz

Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz

Dimitrios P. Kontoyiannis

University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Paula Ludovico

Universidade do Minho

ICVS/3B's - PT Government Associate Laboratory

Stéphen Manon

Université de Bordeaux

Enzo Martegani

Universita' degli Studi di Milano-Bicocca

Cristina Mazzoni

Sapienza, Università di Roma

Lynn A. Megeney

University of Ottawa, Canada

Ottawa Hospital Research Institute

Chris Meisinger

Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg

Jens B Nielsen

Chalmers, Biologi och bioteknik, Systembiologi

Danmarks Tekniske Universitet (DTU)

Thomas Nyström

Göteborgs universitet

Heinz D. Osiewacz

Johann Wolfgang Goethe Universität Frankfurt am Main

Tiago F. Outeiro


NOVA Medical School - Faculdade de Ciências Médicas, Universidade Nova de Lisboa

Universitätsmedizin Göttingen

University of Newcastle upon Tyne, Faculty of Medicine

Hay Oak Park

Ohio State University

Tobias Pendl

Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz

Dina Petranovic Nielsen


Stephane Picot

Institut de Chimie et Biochimie Moléculaire et Supramoléculaire

CHU de Lyon

Peter Polčic

Univerzita Komenskeho v Bratislave

Ted Powers

University of California

Mark Ramsdale

University of Exeter

Mark Rinnerthaler

Universität Salzburg

Patrick Rockenfeller

Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz

University Of Kent

Christoph Ruckenstuhl

Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz

Raffael Schaffrath

Universitat Kassel

Maria Segovia

Universidad De Malaga

Fedor F. Severin

Moscow State University

Amir Sharon

Tel Aviv University George S. Wise Faculty of Life Sciences

Stephan J. Sigrist

Freie Universität Berlin

Cornelia Sommer-Ruck

Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz

Maria João Sousa

Universidade do Minho

Johan Thevelein

KU Leuven

Flanders Interuniversity Institute for Biotechnology

Karin Thevissen

KU Leuven

Vladimir Titorenko

Université Concordia

M. B. Toledano

Université Paris-Saclay

Mick Tuite

University Of Kent

F. Nora Vögtle

Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg

Benedikt Westermann

Universität Bayreuth

Joris Winderickx

KU Leuven

Silke Wissing

CEVEC Pharmaceuticals GmbH

Stefan Wölfl

Universität Heidelberg

Zhaojie J. Zhang

University of Wyoming

Richard Y. Zhao

University of Maryland

Bing Zhou

Tsinghua University

Lorenzo Galluzzi

Université Paris Descartes

Weill Cornell Medical College

Sandra and Edward Meyer Cancer Center

Guido Kroemer

Université Pierre et Marie Curie (UPMC)

Inserm Transfert

Université Paris Descartes

Hopital Europeen Georges-Pompidou

Karolinska universitetssjukhuset

Frank Madeo

Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz


Microbial Cell

23112638 (eISSN)

Vol. 5 1 4-31



Cell- och molekylärbiologi




Mer information

Senast uppdaterat