Guidelines and recommendations on yeast cell death nomenclature
Review article, 2018

Elucidating the biology of yeast in its full complexity has major implications for science, medicine and industry. One of the most critical processes determining yeast life and physiology is cellular demise. However, the investigation of yeast cell death is a relatively young field, and a widely accepted set of concepts and terms is still missing. Here, we propose unified criteria for the definition of accidental, regulated, and programmed forms of cell death in yeast based on a series of morphological and biochemical criteria. Specifically, we provide consensus guidelines on the differential definition of terms including apoptosis, regulated necrosis, and autophagic cell death, as we refer to additional cell death routines that are relevant for the biology of (at least some species of) yeast. As this area of investigation advances rapidly, changes and extensions to this set of recommendations will be implemented in the years to come. Nonetheless, we strongly encourage the authors, reviewers and editors of scientific articles to adopt these collective standards in order to establish an accurate framework for yeast cell death research and, ultimately, to accelerate the progress of this vibrant field of research.

Model organism


Reactive oxygen species


Regulated cell death

Saccharomyces cerevisiae

Accidental cell death

Autophagic cell death

Mitotic catastrophe



Mitochondrial membrane permeabilization


Didac Carmona-Gutierrez

University of Graz

Maria Anna Bauer

University of Graz

Andreas Zimmermann

University of Graz

Andrés Aguilera

University of Seville

Nicanor Austriaco

Providence College

Kathryn Ayscough

University of Sheffield

Rena Balzan

University of Malta

Shoshana Bar-Nun

Tel Aviv University George S. Wise Faculty of Life Sciences

Antonio Barrientos

University of Miami

Peter Belenky

Brown University

Marc Blondel

Universite de Bretagne Occidentale

R. J. Braun

University of Bayreuth

Michael Breitenbach

University of Salzburg

William C. Burhans

Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center

Sabrina Büttner

Department of Molecular Biosciences, The Wenner-Gren Institute

University of Graz

Duccio Cavalieri

University of Florence

Michael Chang

University of Groningen

Katrina F. Cooper

Rowan University

Manuela Côrte-Real

University of Minho

Vítor Costa

University of Porto

Instituto de Biologia Molecular e Celular

I3S- Instituto de Investigacao e Inovacao em Saude

Christophe Cullin

University of Bordeaux

Ian W Dawes

University of New South Wales (UNSW)

Jörn Dengjel

University of Fribourg

Martin B. Dickman

Texas A&M University

Tobias Eisenberg


University of Graz

Birthe Fahrenkrog

Université libre de Bruxelles (ULB)

Nicolas Fasel

University of Lausanne

Kai Uwe Fröhlich

University of Graz

Ali Gargouri

Centre de Biotechnologie de Sfax

Sergio Giannattasio

Consiglo Nazionale Delle Richerche

Paola Goffrini

University of Parma

Campbell W. Gourlay

University Of Kent

Chris M. Grant

University of Manchester

Michael T. Greenwood

Royal Military College of Canada

Nicoletta Guaragnella

Consiglo Nazionale Delle Richerche

Thomas Heger

University Hospital of Zürich

Jürgen Heinisch

Osnabrück University

Eva Herker

Heinrich-Pette-Institut Leibniz-Institut für Experimentelle Virologie

Johannes M. Herrmann

Technische Universität Kaiserslautern

Sebastian Hofer

University of Graz

Antonio Jiménez-Ruiz

University of Alcalá

Helmut Jungwirth

University of Graz

Katharina Kainz

University of Graz

Dimitrios P. Kontoyiannis

University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Paula Ludovico

ICVS/3B's - PT Government Associate Laboratory

University of Minho

Stéphen Manon

University of Bordeaux

Enzo Martegani

University of Milano-Bicocca

Cristina Mazzoni

Sapienza University of Rome

Lynn A. Megeney

University of Ottawa

Ottawa Hospital Research Institute

Chris Meisinger

University of Freiburg

Jens B Nielsen

Chalmers, Biology and Biological Engineering, Systems and Synthetic Biology

Technical University of Denmark (DTU)

Thomas Nyström

University of Gothenburg

Heinz D. Osiewacz

Goethe University Frankfurt

Tiago F. Outeiro

University Medical Center Göttingen

Nova University of Lisbon

Newcastle University

Max Planck Society

Hay Oak Park

Ohio State University

Tobias Pendl

University of Graz

Dina Petranovic Nielsen

System Biology

Stephane Picot

Institut de Chimie et Biochimie Moléculaire et Supramoléculaire

CHU de Lyon

Peter Polčic

Comenius University in Bratislava

Ted Powers

University of California

Mark Ramsdale

University of Exeter

Mark Rinnerthaler

University of Salzburg

Patrick Rockenfeller

University Of Kent

University of Graz

Christoph Ruckenstuhl

University of Graz

Raffael Schaffrath

University of Kassel

Maria Segovia

University of Malaga

Fedor F. Severin

Moscow State University

Amir Sharon

Tel Aviv University George S. Wise Faculty of Life Sciences

Stephan J. Sigrist

Freie Universität Berlin

Cornelia Sommer-Ruck

University of Graz

Maria João Sousa

University of Minho

Johan Thevelein

Flanders Interuniversity Institute for Biotechnology

KU Leuven

Karin Thevissen

KU Leuven

Vladimir Titorenko

Concordia University

M. B. Toledano

University Paris-Saclay

Mick Tuite

University Of Kent

F. Nora Vögtle

University of Freiburg

Benedikt Westermann

University of Bayreuth

Joris Winderickx

KU Leuven

Silke Wissing

CEVEC Pharmaceuticals GmbH

Stefan Wölfl

Heidelberg University

Zhaojie J. Zhang

University of Wyoming

Richard Y. Zhao

University of Maryland

Bing Zhou

Tsinghua University

Lorenzo Galluzzi

Weill Cornell Medical College

Sandra and Edward Meyer Cancer Center

Paris Descartes University

Guido Kroemer

Inserm Transfert

Paris Descartes University

Hopital Europeen Georges-Pompidou

Karolinska University Hospital

Pierre and Marie Curie University (UPMC)

Frank Madeo


University of Graz

Microbial Cell

23112638 (eISSN)

Vol. 5 1 4-31

Subject Categories

Cell Biology

Cell and Molecular Biology

Developmental Biology



More information

Latest update