Characterization of Two 2 mm detected Optically Obscured Dusty Star-forming Galaxies
Artikel i vetenskaplig tidskrift, 2022

The 2 mm Mapping Obscuration to Reionization with ALMA (MORA) Survey was designed to detect high-redshift (z greater than or similar to 4), massive, dusty star-forming galaxies (DSFGs). Here we present two likely high-redshift sources, identified in the survey, whose physical characteristics are consistent with a class of optical/near-infrared (OIR)-invisible DSFGs found elsewhere in the literature. We first perform a rigorous analysis of all available photometric data to fit spectral energy distributions and estimate redshifts before deriving physical properties based on our findings. Our results suggest the two galaxies, called MORA-5 and MORA-9, represent two extremes of the "OIR-dark" class of DSFGs. MORA-5 (z(phot) = 4.3(-1.3)(+1.5)) is a significantly more active starburst with a star formation rate (SFR) of 830(-190)(+340) M-circle dot yr(-1) compared to MORA-9 (z(phot) = 4.3(-1.0)(+1.3)), whose SFR is a modest 200(-60)(+250) M-circle dot yr(-1). Based on the stellar masses (M-star approximate to 10(10-11) M-circle dot), space density (n similar to (5 +/- 2) x 10(-6) Mpc(-3), which incorporates two other spectroscopically confirmed OIR-dark DSFGs in the MORA sample at z = 4.6 and z = 5.9), and gas depletion timescales (<1 Gyr) of these sources, we find evidence supporting the theory that OIR-dark DSFGs are the progenitors of recently discovered 3 < z < 4 massive quiescent galaxies.


Sinclaire M. Manning

University of Massachusetts

The University of Texas at Austin

Caitlin M. Casey

The University of Texas at Austin

Jorge A. Zavala

National Astronomical Observatory of Japan

The University of Texas at Austin

Georgios E. Magdis

Köpenhamns universitet

Danmarks Tekniske Universitet (DTU)

Patrick M. Drew

The University of Texas at Austin

Jaclyn B. Champagne

The University of Texas at Austin

Manuel Aravena

Universidad Diego Portales

Matthieu Bethermin

Aix-Marseille Université

David L. Clements

Imperial College London

Steven L. Finkelstein

The University of Texas at Austin

Seiji Fujimoto

Köpenhamns universitet

Christopher C. Hayward

Flatiron Institute

Jacqueline A. Hodge

Universiteit Leiden

Olivier Ilbert

Aix-Marseille Université

Jeyhan S. Kartaltepe

Rochester Institute of Technology

Kirsten Kraiberg Knudsen

Chalmers, Rymd-, geo- och miljövetenskap, Astronomi och plasmafysik

Anton M. Koekemoer

Space Telescope Science Institute (STScI)

Allison W. S. Man

University of British Columbia (UBC)

Dunlap Institute for Astronomy and Astrophysics

David B. Sanders

University of Hawaii

Kartik Sheth

National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)

Justin S. Spilker

The University of Texas at Austin

Johannes Staguhn

Johns Hopkins University

NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Margherita Talia

Universita di Bologna

Istituto nazionale di astrofisica (INAF)

Ezequiel Treister

Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Chile

Min S. Yun

University of Massachusetts

Astrophysical Journal

0004-637X (ISSN) 1538-4357 (eISSN)

Vol. 925 1 23


Astronomi, astrofysik och kosmologi

Annan fysik

Sannolikhetsteori och statistik



Mer information

Senast uppdaterat