Implementation of activities described in the Roadmap to Fusion during Horizon Europe through a joint programme of the members of the EUROfusion consortium
Research Project , 2021 – 2025

A Roadmap to the realization of fusion energy was adopted by the EFDA system at the end of 2012. The roadmap aims at achieving all the necessary know-how to start the construction of a demonstration power plant (DEMO) by 2030, in order to reach the goal of fusion electricity in the grid by 2050. The roadmap has been articulated in eight different Missions. The present proposal has the goal of implementing the activities described in the Roadmap during Horizon 2020 through a joint programme of the members of the EUROfusion Consortium.
ITER is the key facility in the roadmap. Thus, ITER success remains the most important overarching objective of the programme and, in the present proposal the vast majority of resources in Horizon 2020 are devoted to ensure that ITER is built within scope, time and budget; its operation is properly prepared; and a new generation of scientists and engineers is properly educated (at undergraduate and PhD level) and trained (at postdoctoral level) for its exploitation. DEMO is the only step between ITER and a commercial fusion power plant. To achieve the goal of fusion electricity demonstration by 2050, DEMO construction has to begin in the early 2030s at the latest, to allow the start of operation in the early 2040s. DEMO cannot be defined and designed by research laboratories alone, but requires the full involvement of industry in all technological and systems aspects of the design. Specific provisions for the involvement of industry in the Consortium activities are envisaged.


Pär Strand (contact)

Chalmers, Space, Earth and Environment, Astronomy and Plasmaphysics


Austrian Academy of Sciences

Wien, Austria

Bulgarian Academy of Sciences

Sofia, Bulgaria

Centro de Investigaciones Energeticas, Medioambientales y Tecnologicas (Ciemat)

Madrid, Spain

Comenius University in Bratislava

Bratislava, Slovakia

Dublin City University

Dublin, Ireland

Forschungszentrum Jülich

Juelich, Germany

Ghent university

Gent, Belgium


Berlin, Germany

Hungarian Academy of Science, WIGNER Research Centre for Physics

Budapest, Hungary

Institute of plasma physics

Prag, Czech Republic

Institute of Plasma Physics & Laser Microfusion (IPPLM)

Warsawa, Poland

Instituto Superior Tecnico

Lisboa, Portugal

Institutul de Fizica Atomica

Ilfov, Romania

Italian National Agency for New Technologies, Energy and Sustainable Economic Development (ENEA)

Roma, Italy

Jozef Stefan Institute

Ljubljana, Slovenia

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)

Karlsruhe, Germany

KU Leuven

Leuven, Belgium

Lithuanian Energy Institute

Kaunas, Lithuania

Max Planck Society

München, Germany

National Center for Scientific Research “Demokritos”

Athens, Greece

National Science Center Kharkiv Institute of Physics and Technology

Kharkiv, Ukraine

Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO)

Den Haag, Netherlands


Salzburg, Austria

Royal Military Academy

Brussels, Belgium

Ruder Boskovic Institute

Zagreb, Croatia

Sofia University

Sofia, Bulgaria

Studiecentrum voor Kernenergie (SCK-CEN)

Brussel, Belgium


Nyköping, Sweden

Swedish Research Council (VR)

Stockholm, Sweden

Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne (EPFL)

Lausanne, Switzerland

Technical Research Centre of Finland (VTT)

Espoo, Finland

Technical University of Denmark (DTU)

Lyngby, Denmark

Technical University of Munich

Muenchen, Germany

Technische Universität Graz

Graz, Austria

The French Alternative Energies and Atomic Energy Commission (CEA)

Gif-sur-Yvette, France

United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority

Oxford, United Kingdom

Universite catholique de Louvain

Louvain La Neuve, Belgium

Université libre de Bruxelles (ULB)

Bruxelles, Belgium

University of Cyprus

Nicosia, Cyprus

University of Innsbruck

Innsbruck, Austria

University of Latvia

Riga, Latvia

University of Stuttgart

Stuttgart, Germany

University of Tartu

Tartu, Estonia

Vienna University of Technology

Wien, Austria


European Commission (EC)

Project ID: 101052200
Funding Chalmers participation during 2021–2025

Related Areas of Advance and Infrastructure

Sustainable development

Driving Forces


Areas of Advance


More information

Latest update