RadioNet 4
Research Project, 2017 – 2020

RadioNet is a consortium of 28 institutions in Europe, Republic of Korea and South Africa, integrating at European level world-class infrastructures for research in radio astronomy. These include radio telescopes, telescope arrays, data archives and the globally operating European Network for Very Long Baseline Interferometry (EVN). RadioNet is de facto widely regarded to represent the interests of radio astronomy in Europe.

A comprehensive, innovative and ambitious suite of actions is proposed that fosters a sustainable research environment. Building on national investments and commitments to operate these facilities, this specific EC program leverages the capabilities on a European scale.

The proposed actions include:

- Merit-based trans-national access to the RadioNet facilities for European and for the first time also for third country users; and integrated and professional user support that fosters continued widening of the community of users.

- Innovative R&D, substantially enhancing the RadioNet facilities and taking leaps forward towards harmonization, efficiency and quality of exploitation at lower overall cost; development and delivery of prototypes of specialized hardware, ready for production in SME industries.

- Comprehensive networking measures for training, scientific exchange, industry cooperation, dissemination of scientific and technical results; and policy development to ensure long-term sustainability of excellence for European radio astronomy.

RadioNet is relevant now, it enables cutting-edge science, top-level R&D and excellent training for its European facilities; with the Atacama Large Millimetre Array (ALMA) and the ESFRI-listed Square Kilometre Array (SKA) defined as global radio telescopes, RadioNet assures that European radio astronomy maintains its leading role into the era of these next-generation facilities by involving scientists and engineers in the scientific use and innovation of the outstanding European facilities.


John Conway (contact)

Chalmers, Space, Earth and Environment, Onsala Space Observatory


Aalto University

Espoo, Finland

Delft University of Technology

Delft, Netherlands

Dublin Institute of Technology (DIT)

Dublin, Ireland

European Southern Observatory (ESO)

Garching, Germany

Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft Zur

Munchen, Germany

Institut de Radioastronomie Millimétrique (IRAM)

Grenoble, France

Istituto nazionale di astrofisica (INAF)

Roma, Italy

Korea Astronomy and Space Science Institute

Daejoen, South Korea

Max Planck Society

München, Germany

National Government of South Africa

Pretoria, South Africa

Netherlands Institute for Space Research (SRON)

Utrecht, Netherlands

Nicolaus Copernicus University

Torun, Poland

Paris Observatory

Paris, France

Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC)

Swindon, United Kingdom

Stichting Astronomisch Onderzoek In Nederland

Dwingeloo, Netherlands

Stichting International Lofar Telescope

Dwingeloo, Netherlands

Trinity College Dublin

Dublin, Ireland

University of Alcalá

Alcala De Henares/Madrid, Spain

University of Cologne

Köln, Germany

University of Glasgow

Glasgow, United Kingdom

University of Groningen

Groningen, Netherlands

University of Manchester

Manchester, United Kingdom

University of Oxford

Oxford, United Kingdom

University of Turku

Åbo, Finland

Ventspils Augstskola

Ventspils, Latvia


European Commission (EC)

Project ID: EC/H2020/730562
Funding Chalmers participation during 2017–2020

Related Areas of Advance and Infrastructure

Onsala Space Observatory



More information

Latest update