Enhanced Cold Wall CVD Reactor Growth of Horizontally Aligned Single-walled Carbon Nanotubes
Artikel i vetenskaplig tidskrift, 2016

Synthesis of horizontally-aligned single-walled carbon nanotubes (HA-SWCNTs) by chemical vapor deposition (CVD) directly on quartz seems very promising for the fabrication of future nanoelectronic devices. In comparison to hot-wall CVD, synthesis of HA-SWCNTs in a cold-wall CVD chamber not only means shorter heating, cooling and growth periods, but also prevents contamination of the chamber. However, since most synthesis of HA-SWCNTs is performed in hot-wall reactors, adapting this well-established process to a cold-wall chamber becomes extremely crucial. Here, in order to transfer the CVD growth technology from a hot-wall to a cold-wall chamber, a systematic investigation has been conducted to determine the influence of process parameters on the HA-SWCNT’s growth. For two reasons, the cold-wall CVD chamber was upgraded with a top heater to complement the bottom substrate heater; the first reason to maintain a more uniform temperature profile during HA-SWCNTs growth, and the second reason to preheat the precursor gas flow before projecting it onto the catalyst. Our results show that the addition of a top heater had a significant effect on the synthesis. Characterization of the CNTs shows that the average density of HA-SWCNTs is around 1-2 tubes/μm with high growth quality as shown by Raman analysis.


horizontally aligned






Wei Mu

Elektronikmaterial och system

Eun-Hye Kwak

Kangwon National University

Bingan Chen

AIXTRON Nanoinstruments Ltd.

Shirong Huang

Shanghai University

Michael Edwards

Elektronikmaterial och system

Yifeng Fu

Elektronikmaterial och system

Kjell Jeppson

Elektronikmaterial och system

Kenneth Teo

AIXTRON Nanoinstruments Ltd.

Goo-Hwan Jeong

Kangwon National University

Johan Liu

Elektronikmaterial och system

Electronic Materials Letters

1738-8090 (ISSN)

Vol. 12 329-337

Carbon Based Smart Systems for Wireless Applications (NANO RF)

Europeiska kommissionen (FP7), 2012-09-01 -- 2015-08-31.